Rural sports attract another record crowd and will be broadcast on Three

More than 30,000 people attended the Hilux New Zealand Rural Games in Palmerston North over the weekend.

A Rural Games special onehour programme, hosted by Mark Leishman and Nickson Clark, will play on THREE at 4pm on Saturday, 16 March 2019. It will be replayed at 5pm on THREE+1. The programme will then be repeated in April and available online at ThreeNow.

New Zealand Rural Games Trust Chair Margaret Kouvelis says it was fantastic to see people of all ages trying out different things from tree climbing to digger driving to gumboot throwing.

“We are proud that our events are free, and this is only possible through the generosity of our sponsors, and the many volunteers who helped.”

Hilux New Zealand Rural Games founder Steve Hollander says the fifth annual Hilux New Zealand Rural Games was the best yet with families from all over the country in the city for the event.

“The Games grow from strength to strength every year and have become a stalwart of the rural sports calendar in New Zealand.”

“We increased the activities for young people, adding in sulky rides with miniature ponies and increasing the number of the selfdrive diggers for children, and more than 400 children learned to climb a tree – it was a brilliant weekend,” says Mr Hollander.

“Other changes included larger big screens and more stands for people to sit and watch the action. The Farmers Market was a new addition, as well as the opportunity for neighbouring districts to promote what they have to offer.”

Highlights from the weekend included livestreaming the event, the launch of the Hireways Little Digger book that was written by two Freyberg High School students, and Trillian Trek which turned up on Sunday afternoon to hand out more than $12,000 to local schools and charities in the city.”

“I want to publicly thank Toyota, Fonterra, Husqvarna, Norwood and Palmerston North City Council for their incredible support,” says Mr Hollander.

The New Zealand Rural Games Trust would like to publicly acknowledge Palmerston North Boys’ High School, Feilding High School, Tai Wananga Tu Toa and the Hillary Outdoor Education Centre for helping with volunteers to make the weekend run smoothly.


Official event results are below.

For more information:

Steve Hollander 021 97 3207


Official 2019 Hilux New Zealand Rural Games Results

Skellerup NZ Gumboot Throwing Championship


1st        Kieran Fowler Dunedin 41.02

2nd       Craig Manson, Lincoln, Canterbury 38.08

3rd        AJ Shaw Taupo 36.43

4th        Riki Paewai Auckland 36.37

5th         Cyrus Paringatai Taihape 35.7

6th        Curley Troon Taihape 32.24

7th        Kris Richards Auckland 31.84

8th        Jordan Watson Auckland 31.28


1st        Kristin Churchward Taihape 32.2

2nd       Jessica McCormack 30.29

3rd        Rowena Duncum Dunedin formerly Whanganui 29.60

4th        Ariana Hansen Taihape 29.26

5th        Dell Adams Taihape 26.64

6th        Shelley Norris Christchurch 25.21

7th        Summer Manson Christchurch 19.32

8th        Leanna Marshall 18.10


Wiremark, Stockade and Fonterra/Future Post New Zealand Speed Fencing Championship in association with NZFC

1st        Tony Bouskill Napier

2nd       Shane Bouskill Tikokino

3rd        John Joseph Graham Ashhurst

4th        Troy Brooky Te Kuiti

5th        Haydon Walton Gisborne

6th        Nick Terry Waikouaiti

7th        Jared Nicholson Havelock North

8th        Burne Maxted Feilding

Lucky Prize Draw Haydon Walton Gisborne

Battening Winner Tony Bouskill Napier


360 Workwear Bill Tapley Memorial Cow Pat Throw in association with FFNZ Manawatu

1st        Jordan Watson 35m Auckland

2nd       Rob Edwards 33.1m Whanganui

3rd        Riki Paewai 32.2m Auckland

1st Under 12    Ella Crofskey 19m Palmerston North


Awahuri Olives and Tiger Turf Olive Stone Spitting

1st        Micky Norris Perth 14.32

2nd       Joe Shaw Taihape 11.3

3rd      Rob NesbitSavage Whanganui 10.75


Zilco Gearing Up Championship in association with Manawatu Harness Racing and HRNZ

1st Place          Peter Ferguson Cambridge

2nd Place        Lydia Pickford Hunterville

3rd Place        Scott Dixon Hunterville

4th Place        Brodie Ellis Hawera


Husqvarna ANZAXE TransTasman Wood Chopping Championship

1st Overall        Shane Jordan NZ

2nd Overall       Kody Steers AUS

3rd Overall       Jack Jordan NZ

4th Overall       Joshua Adamson AUS

5th Overall       Nathan McDonald NZ

6th Overall       Jesse Whitehead NZ

7th Overall       Jarrod Williams AUS

8th Overall       David McIntosh AUS

Winning Sawyer Shane Jordan NZ

Winning Axeman Joshua Adamson AUS

Team Event

1st NZ

2nd AUS


Guardian Trees, Treetech and NZARB – New Zealand Speed Tree Climbing TransTasman Championship

1st Overall       Jeremy Millar NZ

1st                    Steph Dryfhout NZ

2nd                   Barton AllenHall Aus

3rd                   James Gigliotti Aus

1st Country Australia Points: 316.12

2nd Country NZ Points: 304.33


Norwood and Monteiths NZ Coal Shovelling Championship

Woman’s Singles

1st        Shelley Norris CHC 42.40sec

2nd      Dora Togiaso CHC 43.49sec

3rd       Anne Becroft AUS 1.05sec

Mens Singles

1st        Tyrell Green West Coast 26.66sec

2nd      Scott McKinnon Aus 27.83sec

3rd Richie Banks West Coast 28 sec

Womens Doubles

1st        Dora Togiaso & Shelley Norris CHC

Mens Doubles

1st        Tyrell Green & Richie Banks West Coast 15.3sec

2nd       Royce Green & Wayne Quine West Coast 18.7sec

3rd        Alistair Collis & Daniel Blenkarin Palmerston North 19.8sec


Powerco Sheep Dog Trials

1st        Jamie Shrubsall Whanganui

2nd       Kathryn Oliver Whanganui

3rd         Bo Milner Wairarapa

4th       Alex Matthews Whanganui

5th         Tim Hunter Wairarapa

6th       Guy Peacock Wairarapa

7th       Vaughan Marfell Wairarapa

8th       Paul Evans Whanganui

Team Result

1st Whanganui 347 points

2nd Wairarapa 346 points


Property Brokers TransTasman Highland Heavies Championship

1st Team – New Zealand – 39 points

2nd Team – Australia – 45 points

1st Kiwi Jono Macfarlane – Palmerston North

1st Aussie – Jayden Hill – formerly of New Zealand now resident in Melbourne

Tugowar – Australia


Babich NZ Wine Barrel Racing

1st        Brooke Brausch Palmerston North

2nd      Blair McConnell Hamilton

3rd      Shane Parlato Foxton


FMG Russian Egg Roulette in Association with Farmer Brown Eggs

1st                    Riki Paewai Auckland

2nd                   Jacob Smith Palmerston Nth

3rd equal         Braden Parsons Palmerston Nth

3rd equal         Louise Ashley


Skellerup Red Bandal Race

1st        Reif Dawson Palmerston North Boys High School

2nd       Fraser Carroll Feilding High School

3rd       Todd Riley Feilding High School


MacDougall Wool Fadge Race

1st        Opiki Young Farmers

2nd       Manawatu Turbos – Backs

3rd        Palmerston North Boys High School


Toyota Hilux New Zealand Speed Shearing Championship

1st        Cam Fergusson Waipawa 40.82 sec

2nd      Brett Roberts Mataura 56.26 sec

3rd       Jack Fagan Te Kuiti

4th       Jimmy Samuels Marton

5th        Rowland Smith Hawke’s Bay

6th        Digger Balme Te Kuiti

7th        Paerata Abraham Wairarapa

8th        Ringakaha Paewai Gorebased, from Dannevirke

9th        Leon Samuels(Invercargill

10th      Casey Bailey Mastertonbased, from Riverton

Women’s Speed Shear

1st    Laura Bradley Woodville

2nd   Ingrid Smith Hawke’s Bay


Williment Travel Egg Throw and Catch

1st        Riki Paewai (Auckland) and Kris Richards (Wellington) 55m

2nd      Ben McColgan (Tauranga) and Lacy Davidson (Ashburton) 50m

3rd equal        Thomas de Wolf (Belgium) and Jamie How (Wellington)

3rd equal        Raymond Toole and Carlos Jensen (both Manawatu)




Rural sports attract another record crowd and will be broadcast on Three

Subscribe to our Newsetter